Home » a penny for my thoughts » First garden tomato, garlic, flannel and Sinatra

First garden tomato, garlic, flannel and Sinatra

20130716-100901.jpg

First tomato from the garden. I placed it on the countertop.

So little, so alone. It needed a friend.

Garlic.

Garlic and tomatoes go together like Romeo and Juliette…like Chianti and pasta…Sinatra and love songs.

And how could I see the two together, the tomato and garlic that is, and not think of my Grandpa and my Dad and my father-in-law, Pete. These men made the best sauce from these two ingredients! Adding olive oil, basil, salt and pepper they made the best sauce you could ever serve with a barbecued steak! Now I’m drooling!

In a few days there will be enough fresh tomatoes on the vine to pick and then concoct the “sauce”…until then I have a little sewing to do.

I have my sewing machine set up in the garage today…

The fans are blowing morning air around my face while my “playlist” is creating a soothing sense of thanksgiving for having been raised in an era when love songs were just that…songs about LOVE…real LOVE. THAT’S ALL. What an incredible love song…”I can only give you love that lasts forever, and a promise to be near each time you fall, and the heart I own for you and you alone”.

My daughter Emily is expecting her third child next month (my eleventh Grandchild). I’m making some flannel blankets for baby girl Fairchild. I’m hoping she is born a few days early on August 10, my Grandmother’s birthday! And, I’m kind of hoping Filomena is her name…St. Filomena was my Grandma’s favorite Saint! P.S. I LOVE YOU.

Even if she is born on the 14th of the month and they name her Odette, she will definitely hear about all her family who were also born in the month of August. And, she will hear old love songs from my playlist as she grows up…lyrics her Great Great Grandparents, Great Grandparents, Parents, Aunts, Uncles and Cousins all fell in love to and with and how a song can turn a simple pasta meal into a sacrament. She will hear about favorite saints and favorite family recipes and who made what the best and what the worst! Baby girl Fairchild will also hear about gardens and tomatoes and how fresh grown tomatoes are like GOLD and taste like Heaven! She will hear about the full moon on Christmas Eve…

Cousin Larry, Great Great Uncle Roger, Grama Brenda, Great Great Grama Theresa, Great Great Grama Antonia, cousin Luca, cousin Angelo, St. Monica…St.Augustine…crickets chirping…daylight shortening…sunflowers…lots of garden tomatoes…being Italian…French…English…Irish…

DANNY BOY…geeze, Harry Connick sings this song beautifully. SANCTA LUCIA…MIA BAMBINA CARO…PUCCINI…GLEN MILLER…ELLA FITZGERALD…SINATRA…

ALL MY TOMORROWS…”As long as I’ve got arms that cling at all, it’s you I’ll be clinging to”…who sings this better than Frank?

Garden tomatoes. Love songs. Flannel blankets. Tony Bennet.
“TIME IS SO OLD…and LOVE SO BRIEF. LOVE IS PURE GOLD and TIME A THIEF…our summer’s day withers away too soon…too soon!”

A little yellow grape tomato. A head of garlic. A new little baby is coming soon. Soft flannel pink blankets. The sewing machine is whirring. Love songs are playing. Lyrics are bringing to mind, heart and soul beautiful memories of loved ones from the past! Yes I hear them singing along and reminding me that whether it’s an ingredient we add to a sauce or the secret “fertilizer” we use in the garden, or an old love song that describes perfectly how we fell in love, these things in life will always be about the unique way each one of us loved and how we were uniquely loved by others. ALWAYS ABOUT LOVE.

As I unplugged the sewing machine and while the song “MOONGLOW” was playing, I thought I heard Great Great Grama Bolone say to me, “I am cheering for the name FILOMENA!”

Okay…okay…just saying. lol

Leave a Reply

