Home » a penny for my thoughts » Good Friday Things

Good Friday Things

20130329-103809.jpg

There is a very short widow of opportunity to catch the sun on my hutch in the morning. Today is GOOD FRIDAY, a day when gray skies and drizzle are almost hoped for. How could the sun shine on this day, but it is shining and in a beautiful “Blessed Mother blue” sky.

Pope Francis gave a beautiful homily while celebrating the Chrism Mass yesterday urging Priests to go out among their flocks and know the people they serve like “SHEPHERDS LIVING WITH THE SMELL OF THE SHEEP”.

Two inspiring hymns sung last night during the Holy Thursday Mass, WE REMEMBER and WE HAVE BEEN TOLD; these songs made me recall so many of the things that I had been told.

“WE REMEMBER HOW YOU LOVED US TO YOUR DEATH, AND STILL WE CELEBRATE FOR YOU ARE WITH US HERE. AND WE BELIEVE THAT WE WILL SEE YOU WHEN YOU COME IN YOUR GLORY, LORD. WE REMEMBER, WE CELEBRATE, WE BELIEVE.”

Good Friday. Oh Lord, I am not worthy.

Yet, You died for me. You rose on Easter morning! You did not leave me orphaned. You are always with me! “O SACRAMENT MOST HOLY O SACRAMENT DIVINE, ALL PRAISE AND ALL THANKSGIVING BE EVERY MOMENT THINE.

Melancholy. Good Friday. A day to feel sad for the little things I let go in my life; simple traditions which in the end will prove to be the things that should have mattered most. I celebrate? I believe?

Get out of the garden in Gethsemane. The temple curtain has been torn in half. Empty tabernacles, no candles lit. I miss You, dear Jesus. “Here a million wounded souls are longing just to touch You and be healed. Gather all Your People, and hold them to Your heart.” I know You hold me to your heart…?

“In the old days, on Easter night, the Russian peasants used to carry the blest fire home from Church. The light would scatter and travel in all directions through the darkness, and the desolation of the night would be pierced and dispelled as lamps came on in the windows of the farmhouses one by one.

“Even so, the glory of God sleeps everywhere ready to blaze out unexpectedly in created things. Even so, His peace and His order lie hidden in the world, even the world of today, ready to reestablish themselves in His way, in His own good time: but never without the instrumentality of free options made by free men.” (Through The Year With Thomas Merton)

Blest fire piercing darkness and desolation. Like Shepherds living with the smell of sheep. Candles lit. Shepherds tending their flock. The glory of God sleeps everywhere.

WE HAVE BEEN TOLD, WE’VE SEEN HIS FACE AND HEARD HIS VOICE ALIVE IN OUR HEARTS; “LIVE IN MY LOVE WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AS THE FATHER HAS LOVED ME, SO I HAVE LOVED YOU.”

Easter morning! wake me up, Lord!!! Let me glorify You in all I do! I hold Your blest fire in my heart! I hear Your voice alive in my heart. You blaze out, You blare out in the most unexpected things!

Leave a Reply

